Porto back on winning terms following home fixture versus Estrela

FC Porto 2-0 Estrela Amadora

FC Porto have returned to winning ways after defeating Estrela da Amadora 2-0 at the Estádio do Dragão, this Saturday, making it their first victory in three games.

The Dragons held a 1-0 advantage going into the break courtesy of key performer Galeno, finding the back of the net in the 35th minute.

Sérgio Conceição’s men secured the three points in front of their home crowd with a second goal from João Mário in the 56th minute, taking third-placed Porto up to 48 points for the season.

On the night of their bounce-back, there was a debut to relish in the form of Otávio’s first start for Porto since his deadline day switch from Famalicão, starting at the back for his new club.

The focus quickly switched to the frontline, however, as Francisco Conceição caused all kinds of problems down the right flank before assisting Evanilson for the first warning aimed at Bruno Brígido's goal in the 5th minute.

Porto’s right continued to be the most fluent of the wings, with João Mário causing the Estrela defence a spot of bother with a low cross that’d eventually fell spare for Galeno to finish in the 36th minute.

The hosts could and probably should have made it 2-0 just before the interval after winning the ball high up the pitch, subsequently leading to Conceição being found in space inside the box before shooting square at the keeper.

The theme in the second half was no different as Galeno registered Porto’s first major chance of the second half in the 54th minute, again being stopped by the inspired Brígido between the sticks.

Estrela’s shot-stopper was no match for João Mário in the 56th minute, however, releasing a a low driven shot into the keeper’s bottom corner and doubling Porto’s advantage in deserved fashion.

Unthreatened at the other end, Porto boxed up their 2-0 lead en route to the final whistle to register three in-demand points against today’s visitors.

By Patrick Ribeiro

FC Porto XI: Diogo Costa - Zaidu, Otávio, Pepe, João Mário - Galeno, Nico González, Pepê, Alan Varela, Francisco Conceição - Evanilson

Estrela Amadora XI: Bruno Brígido, Pedro Mendes, Kialonda Gaspar, Rúben Lima - Hevertton, Leonardo, Aloísio Souza, Nilton - Leo Jabá, Ronaldo Tavares, André Luiz